Figure 4.2 | Lobes of the brain

The Image Overlay Dialog provides a means for an image to be separated into meaningful regions for associated data to be coupled via a dialog window. This Interactive Media Object is broken down into; an image figure with alt text and figure caption descriptions, a menu to be navigated via the Tab key which highlights each region, and menu items whereby a regions details can be found.

Lateral view of the left cerebral hemisphere of the brain
A lateral view of the left cerebral hemisphere showing how it is classified into four lobes depending on the cranial bones that cover them: the frontal lobe, parietal lobe, temporal lobe, and occipital lobe. Functional areas correspond to regions of the lobes where some signals are specifically processed.
Frontal lobe of brain Primary motor cortex region Parietal lobe Primary somatosensory cortex region Temporal lobe Primary auditory cortex region Occipital lobe of brain Primary visual cortex region

Frontal lobe

The frontal lobe lies behind the frontal bone. It houses the primary motor cortex.

Primary motor cortex

Located in the frontal lobe, the primary motor cortex controls voluntary motion.

Primary somatosensory cortex

Located in the parietal lobe, the primary somatosensory cortex is responsible for our sense of touch.

Parietal lobe

The parietal lobe lies behind the parietal bone. It houses the primary somatosensory cortex.

Temporal lobe

The temporal lobe lies behind the temporal bone. It houses the primary auditory cortex.

Primary auditory cortex

Located in the temporal lobe, the primary auditory cortex processes sound and is responsible for our ability to hear.

Occipital lobe

The occipital lobe lies behind the occipital bone. It houses the primary visual cortex.

Primary visual cortex

Located in the occipital lobe, the primary visual cortex in the occipital lobe processes visual information and is responsible for our ability to see.